Things Unso

If the wind takes the house

it will be someone else’s

soon enough, and they too

will find it cold. What breaks

breaks open. After a house

one finds oneself in a wood,

and after too long in a wood

one finds oneself sullen

in heaven. Someone else lies

in my bed now so I can’t

sleep any better than they do.

To be lost is to be connected

interminably.

When they turn in my bed

the whole house turns, and I

turn, and the wind is emptied

through my own and theirs

and through a common door

to some place I do not know.

If things fall far enough apart,

they are all equally gone.

From Seth Abramson’s book Thievery.

Leave a comment

Filed under An Akronism

Leave a Reply

